This Month’s Beat: DAY6

Be it a breakup, an unrequited love, a lazy afternoon, or a particularly energetic mood, five-piece band DAY6 has the right song to hit you in all the right places for every day of the week.

The band was originally known as 5LIVE, which began promotions under JYP Entertainment in 2014 with members Sungjin, Jae, Junhyeok, Young K, and Wonpil. Many fans would recall seeing them first in an episode of the reality show, Who is Next: Win. Come mid-2015, drummer boy Dowoon was added and the band renamed as DAY6. They debuted with the track, Congratulations, from the mini-album The Day. However, Junhyeok had to leave due to personal reasons in 2016. The band then proceeded with promoting their next hit Letting Go from Daydream EP with five members.

While the group has already earned support from many fans at this point, DAY6 became even more famous during its Every DAY6 promotions where it released two tracks on every sixth day of the month. This saw the release of I Wait, You Were Beautiful (which is a follow-up to Congratulations), How Can I Say, I’m Serious, DANCE DANCE, and I Smile for the first half of 2017. These were compiled in their first album, Sunrise, which also included the new versions of Congratulations and Letting Go sans Junhyeok’s vocals. The fandom name My Day was also announced.

DAY6 brought fresh hits Hi Hello, the trilogy What Can I Do, I Loved You, and When You Love Someone (which music videos featured high school friendship and love triangle plot between the characters of Sungjin, Young K, and actress Kim Jieun), All Alone, and I Like You for the second half of the year. These were also compiled in another full album, Moonrise. The band also released the final versions of the sidetracks from The Day EP.

The band also entered the Japanese market in 2018 with If and Stop The Rain from its first greatest hits album The Best Day, which included the English versions of Congratulations and You Were Beautiful and the Japanese version of I Wait.

In May, DAY6 returned to Korea and released another masterpiece, Shoot Me, from the EP, Shoot Me: Youth Part 1.

From busking in the streets of South Korea, the group is now embarking on a world tour. Talk about character development! While waiting for the arrival of DAY6 in our shores this month, here are some info about the members:


Real Name: Park Sungjin

Birthday: January 16, 1993

Position: Leader, main vocal

Instrument: Rhythm guitar (Atom, Baba, and Baron)


Real Name: Park Jaehyung

Birthday: September 15, 1993

Position: Lead vocalist, rapper, lead guitarist

Instrument: Acoustic/electric guitar (Mery, Sir Nutcracker the 5th, Taylor, and Money)

Young K

Real Name: Kang Younghyun

Birthday: December 19, 1993

Position: Lead vocalist, rapper, bassist

Instrument: Bass guitar (Jane, Tyson, Lisa, and Goldie)


Real Name: Kim Wonpil

Birthday: April 28, 1994

Position: Lead vocalist, synthesizer, keyboardist

Instrument: Synthesizer (Cindy)


Real Name: Yoon Dowoon

Birthday: August 25, 1995

Position: Drummer

Instrument: Drums (his drumsticks are called Do and Woon)


Here’s a look at DAY6’s latest song, Shoot Me:

Who’s your DAY6 bias? Which is your favorite DAY6 song? Let us know in the comments!


Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us




Most Popular

New P-Pop group 1st.One debuts with “You Are The One”

There is a new P-Pop group in town: 1st.One! Formed by FirstOne Entertainment, the six-member all-boy Pinoy group debuted today with their first single "You...

WATCH: MNL48 Sheki covers Red Velvet’s Psycho

MNL48 Sheki has posted her much-awaited cover of Red Velvet's hit song "Psycho" on July 30. The idol originally posted a short cover of the...

AC Bonifacio wins second place in BLACKPINK’s HYLT dance cover contest

Filipino dancer and singer AC Bonifacio placed second in BLACKPINK’s How You Like That Dance Cover Contest.

What's On KStreetTV